If you choose to accept guests on a monthly basis there are several best practices to employ. First off, keep extended-stay guests separated from your short-term guests. The two do not always work well side by side and can create some of the wrong impressions for your short-term guests.
Create a second set of rules and regulations for your extended-stay guests that are not applicable to short-term guests, such as outside storage units, multiple cars, etc.
Determine if you will apply a time-stay policy in your park. If you do, you must apply the policy equally to all guests, no exceptions. Many parks choose six months because of California’s eviction laws. Any tenant (a guest who has been in your park for more than 30 days but less than 9 months) may be evicted with a 30-day notice and management does not need to state cause. While the time frame is 9 months, most parks employ a 6 month limit in order to provide time if a tenant refuses to leave. The additional 3 months provides time for the 30 day eviction as well as any court proceedings needed to remove the guest. If a guest refuses to leave, an unlawful detainer and court proceedings are required.
[Note: Many parks allow their guests to return after the 6-month limit. There is no law requiring them to stay out of the park for a specified period of days. Nor is there any case law that answers the question. Therefore, attorneys recommend utilizing the best practice as established by California State Parks, which is two weeks. Additionally, you should not allow them to return to the same site and you need to have them sign a new month to month rental agreement. Your goal is to make sure they are not establishing residency within your park for more than nine months.]
Accept extended-stay guests on a weekly basis for the first month. This requires them to pay you at least four different times and you can test their “intent to pay.” If they do not pay, immediately serve a 72-hour notice for failure to pay and remove them from your park.
During this month, have your guests fill out a Tenant Personal & Credit Application. Screen the potential tenant with a credit bureau. If the guest passes the background and has paid you on time for the initial four weeks, have the guest fill out and sign a monthly agreement. Continue to use a registration form each month as a receipt and to record dates of occupancy.
If the guest does not pass the background, review CalARVC’s Denial of Tenancy White paper to understand your requirements for complying with the Fair Credit Act.
Finally, read CalARVC’s White Paper on Megan’s Law and understand what you are allowed or not allowed to do.